County Council election results

We’re delighted to announce that we’ve kept our Redhill East seat on Surrey County Council. Jonathan Essex beat the Conservative candidate by almost 1,000 votes (1849 to 879), getting 53.41% of the vote.

But we didn’t manage the breakthrough we had worked for in Redhill West & Meadvale. Rob Jarrett came second with 22.25% of the vote – an increase on last time. Commiserations to Rob.

Thank you to all our candidates across Reigate and Banstead, for standing up and representing the Green Party and all we stand for locally. And thank you to everyone who has worked so hard on this election, leafletting, canvassing, telling, and in so many other ways.

Can we win another seat in Redhill? Yes we can! We will need to work even harder next year in the district council elections to get that seat! But for now, let’s celebrate our success in keeping our amazing hard-working councillor, and for increasing our vote share in both Redhill wards.

Read the local results on the Reigate & Banstead Borough Council website

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.


  1. M Ahmed
    Posted Sunday, 7 May 2017 at 10:14 am | Permalink

    Green vote increased by 1%, Conservatives by 12%. Greens even with all their hard
    work actually went backwards with a far higher turnout.

    • admin
      Posted Sunday, 7 May 2017 at 10:22 am | Permalink

      Yes, all the last election’s UKIP voters returned to the Conservative fold this year. We are pleased to have made progress though. Onward and upward!

  2. Andy
    Posted Saturday, 10 June 2017 at 7:58 am | Permalink

    Well done to the Greens for a good fight, a strong campaign and for being the only local politician I would recognise walking down the street. And thank you for giving us an alternative. No flagging now!

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>